Eggplant Compote with Pita

One of the blessings (and curses) about subscribing to a CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) is that you never know what surprises you might get in your box! Gabe and I aren’t particularly picky eaters, but we are a bit hesitant when we see an odd item or something we can’t identify right away. And… when we get a large quantity of an item we know we are not fond of. One of those items happens to be eggplant. Ick.

I think it’s a texture thing, but neither of us are huge fans. I don’t really care for anything breaded so that rules out the most popular option of eggplant parmesan. Roasting and just eating it doesn’t sound appealing either.

So, I pleaded with my Facebook friends to help me out with this one (which was actually TWO huge purple beauties). I don’t know about you guys, but one of my least favorite things about asking for help with recipes/crafts/etc. on Facebook is that people are quick to say “Pinterest!” That’s great. I know I could use Pinterest for anything, but I’m actually asking for YOUR help, not Pinterest. Ya dig? I was careful to express my interest in TRIED and TRUE recipes with this post and people really came through. Because of that, I was able to find a recipe for eggplant compote. I sent to Gabe and off we went to try this out!

Recipe Here: http://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/eggplant-compote

I must say, the combination of flavors is AWESOME. It is very flavorful and just really great. We used fresh tomatoes (side note: grating tomatoes is odd) and then homemade marina sauce (recipe to come) as called for in the recipe. I added a little extra to make the sauce more prevalent and thicker. Whatever floats your boat. All the sauce and herbs totally masks the dullness of eggplant and it’s strange/thick texture in my opinion. Gabe doesn’t agree and therefore, did not partake in the consumption of this dish. 

Be careful when steaming to make sure the water is below the steaming basket. If the eggplant is covered in water and soaks, it seems to become VERY mushy and gross. I think 12 minutes is a little too much time. I’d set a timer for 8 minutes and check it after that.

Stuff it in a pita pocket and consume! Mmm mmm.

